home-cooked soul food

by adamaphar

A processed meal is one that has been prepared for me by others, in which a script (i.e., recipe) dictates the mixture of cheap, homogenous ingredients. It is safe only because it is predictable, and requires minimal cost. Buy it and heat it up. Eat. Technically it counts as food.

A processed soul is one that has been prepared for me by others, in which a set of social scripts dictates a mixture of cheap, homogenous emotions, thoughts, words, and behaviors. It is safe only because it is predictable, and requires minimal cost. Buy it and heat it up. Eat. Technically it counts as a soul.

I have largely given up processed foods, but I have not largely given up a processed soul. Day after day I choose the easier path. How wonderful to cook a meal from scratch! I’m bad at planning my meals. I look around the house, take stock of the scraps and go from there. It’s the way I do it. It’s a good way to cook a soul as well. The leftover scraps of my life, the shreds and tears – it is out of these things that I create my self. Stone soup. Each day it’s new. Each moment it’s new. I open my refrigerator and pantry and see what’s there. I make no apology, and am not surprised if people pass it over for finer meals (or more predictable ones). It nourishes me though; and sometimes it nourishes others. That’s all I would ask for.

 

 

