I Cor 13

by adamaphar

“If I speak in the tongues of mortals and of angels, but do not have love, I am a noisy or a clanging cymbal. And if I have prophetic powers, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have all faith, so as to remove mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing.”

A majestic passage, which as been somewhat hackneyed by its (over) use in weddings. Knowledge tells us all about the world and the various things that happen in it, but loves meets the world in its mere existence. And later Paul says, “Love never ends…. As for knowledge, it will come to an end.” He has in mind, I think, a cosmic ending, but in the soul’s ascent to God also there is a point at which there is a cessation of knowledge and speech. There, one exists in pure abiding. As people, we may master all things which can be said to exist within us. Here we meet that which transcends our personhood, so it remains a mystery. Even so, there “[we] will know fully, even as [we] have been fully known.”

