Thoughts on the New Year

by adamaphar

I am deeply grateful for this past year.

The fog lifted. Just as I forgot it was there. Or, I should say, just as  I forgot that it was ever not a part of my life.

But it also remains. That’s ok. I don’t want nor expect to have endless happiness. But I’m just grateful that I’ve experienced a depth of happiness I have not experienced in a very long time.

I saw glimpses of a pearl of great price.

Lord I am not worthy to receive you; but only say the word, and I shall be healed.

The soul has an infinite depth, as of the night sky. I am humbled by this mystery.

People I care about are changing. Some for the better, some for the worse. Growth is weird. It does not always put us into a place of greater bliss or happiness or fun, but it does seem to put us into a place of greater contentment. People I know who are growing are also admitting into their lives greater complexity, concern, and labor. I think there is something I could learn from that.

I:
discovered Haiku (very happy about that);
visited both my brother and sister;
was introduced to Thomas Merton, Erazim Kohak, and Parker Palmer;
began to understood the value of wisdom

